APTRA re-elects Sunil Tuli as President; Board announced for 2023-2025

By Luke Barras-hill |

Sunil Tuli has been re-elected as APTRA President. 

King Power Group (HK) Chief Executive Officer Sunil Tuli has been re-appointed as APTRA President as the association names its 12-member Board to serve for the 2023-2025 period.

At APTRA’s AGM held online yesterday (3 May), members voted for the newly elected Board (see below list) and subsequently confirmed Tuli as President for a third consecutive term.

The industry veteran was elected President in 2020. Prior to that he spent three successive spells as President from 2007-2013.

Erin Lillis, Travel Retail Director, Lacoste retains her Board post as Secretary, while Susan Hueso, Head of APAC Travel Retail, Lindt & Sprüngli takes on the position of Treasurer, succeeding Pan Har Ying, Corporate Affairs & Communications Manager, JTI.

Meanwhile, Pernod Ricard Managing Director North Asia Simon Van Moppes is a new addition to the Board.

Busy APTRA agenda in Singapore

Pernod Ricard’s Simon Van Moppes has joined the Board.

Tuli commented: “I am delighted to be re-elected as APTRA President and to continue to serve the association and the industry as it powers up to full recovery.

“On behalf of the APTRA board, I extend a warm welcome to Simon Van Moppes, representing Pernod Ricard, who I know will bring valuable strategic insight and enthusiasm to the board.”

The entire Board had been standing for re-election for a further term, with four additional candidates added to the mix.

Under voting rules, each APTRA member organisation may cast a total of 12 votes across all categories of their choice.

The 12 candidates with the highest number of votes make up the new APTRA board for the period 2023-2025 and the APTRA President, Treasurer and Secretary are elected by the newly formed board.

Each Board position is held by a member organisation represented by a chosen individual from that company.

APTRA will welcome more than 160 guests to its networking lunch this Sunday 7 May at the Tanglin Club in Singapore.

The event will enjoy support from sponsors Campari Group, CVH Spirits, Go Travel, Heineken and Lindt & Sprüngli.

The APTRA Exchange on Monday 8 May during the TFWA Asia Pacific Conference will feature presentations from ForwardKeys, Pi Insight and keynote speaker Simon Baptist, Global Chief Economist from the Economist Intelligence Unit.


King Power Group Hong Kong: Sunil Tuli, Group CEO (President)

Delhi Duty Free Services: Nuno Amaral, Director

Auckland International Airport: Lucy Thomas, Head of Retail

Changi Airport Group: Teo Chew Hoon, Managing Director Airside Concessions

TFWA: Erik Juul-Mortensen, President

Australia Duty Free Association: Steve Timms, Chairperson

Chanel: Hervé Ducros, Director Global Travel Retail

CVH Spirits (formerly Distell): Luke Maga, Managing Director, Travel Retail

JT International: Pan Har Ying, Corporate Affairs & Communications Manager

Lacoste: Erin Lillis, Travel Retail Director (Secretary)

Lindt & Sprüngli: Susana Hueso, Head of APAC Travel Retail (Treasurer)

Pernod Ricard: Simon Van Moppes, Managing Director, North Asia



Heinemann anticipates another €1bn year at IST

Retail has boomed at Istanbul Airport (IST) and the momentum is set to continue this year, even...


MAN 'very sorry' after power spike cancels flights

Manchester Airport (MAN) Managing Director Chris Woodroofe has issued an apology to passengers...


Vantage rebrands as airports manager and investor looks to the future

Vantage Airport Group (Vantage) has announced a corporate rebrand to Vantage Group. The...

image description

In the Magazine

TRBusiness Magazine is free to access. Read the latest issue now.

E-mail this link to a friend