Aena’s Javier Marín to replace Jost Lammers as ACI Europe President

By Luke Barras-hill |

Javier Marín is the new President of ACI Europe.

Javier Marín has been elected to lead Airports Council International (ACI) Europe, succeeding Munich Airport Chief Executive Officer Jost Lammers.

Marín, Managing Director, Airports and Executive Member of the Board of Directors at Aena, was named in the position during the European airport association’s General Assembly yesterday as part of the 31st Annual Congress and General Assembly hosted by Geneva Airport.

He said: “It is an honour and a pleasure to accept this position as President of ACI Europe. This comes, of course, at a challenging time for our industry.

“We are poised on the brink of an extraordinary step-change, readying ourselves for the post-pandemic reality. The role of our association has never been more central – giving us voice on the international stage, defending and promoting our license to operate, and making us even greater than the sum of our parts as we digitalise and decarbonise our industry. I thank ACI Europe’s members for their trust in me at this critical time.”


The airport and aviation executive has held the position of Member of the Executive Committee since 2019.

He has been with Aena for two decades and is currently responsible for the Spanish airports network and those airports that Aena manages abroad via its subsidiary Aena International.

TAV Airports Deputy CEO Serkan Kaptan is among several first-term appointments to the ACI Europe Board.

Prior to joining Aena, Marín held positions within the Universidada Politécnica of Madrid, the Spanish Civil Aviation Authority, the Paris-based Eurocontrol Experimental Centra and Indra.

He has served on the Board of Directors for several companies related to the airport sector and on the governing council of ACI World.

During the General Assembly, ACI Europe made a number of appointments to the Board for a first term.

These were: André Schneider, CEO, Aéroport International de Genève; Giovanni Battista Scalia, CEO, GESAP; Daniel Burkard, Deputy Airport Director, Moscow Domodedovo Airport; Kimmo Mäki, CEO, Finavia; Franck Goldnadel, President du Directoire, Société Aéroports de la Côte d’Azur; Gilles Tellier, Directeur des Concessions Aéroportuaires, CCIMBO; Serkan Kaptan, Deputy CEO, TAV Airports; Goran Jandreoski, Executive Director, Airports of Montenegro; John Holland-Kaye, CEO, Heathrow Airport; Stefan Schulte, Chairman of the Executive Board, Fraport; Edward Arkwright, Deputy CEO, Group ADP; and Huseyin Kadri Samsunlu, CEO, IGA.

In addition, David Cicéo, Managing Director and President, Cluj Avram Iancu Int. Airport and Romanian Airports Association andDalton Philips, CEO, daa were appointed to the board for a second term.


OUT NOW: June/July issue + Top 10 Airports

The TRBusiness June/July 2024 edition, featuring the Top 10 Airports report, is now available...


TR Consumer Forum 2024 photo gallery now live

The TR Consumer Forum 2024 was packed with memorable moments, from the very first networking...


TR Consumer Forum welcomes Gulf Beverages

TRBusiness is proud to announce Gulf Beverages and African + Eastern as Diamond Sponsors for the...

image description

In the Magazine

TRBusiness Magazine is free to access. Read the latest issue now.

E-mail this link to a friend