Frank O’Connell passes DFWC leadership baton to Sarah Branquinho

By Luke Barras-hill |


Branquinho has been elected on a two-year term.

Sarah Branquinho has been elected as the new Duty Free World Council (DFWC) President for a two-year term following the association’s AGM.

The former European Travel Retail Confederation (ETRC) President succeeds Frank O’Connell, who expressed his adulation for Branquinho as someone who is best placed to ‘lead the Council to the next level’.

As the current External Affairs Advisor at Dufry, Branquinho had previously served on the board of ETRC and is well-known and respected in the industry with a long history of advocating on behalf of duty free and travel retail.


Branquinho commented: “I am honoured to have been entrusted with taking the Duty Free World Council forward over the next two years. Under Frank O’Connell’s superb leadership, the DFWC has become a vocal and effective advocate for our industry in the face of many challenges to the way we operate.

“I look forward to working with the regional associations and TFWA to protect and promote the duty free and travel retail channel and the contribution it makes to the travel and tourism ecosystem.”

Frank O'Connell New

Frank O’Connell has been associated with the DFWC since its inception.

In a statement, the DFWC Board added it was pleased to have someone of Branquinho’s calibre take over the responsibility of promoting the global interests of the industry, while simultaneously praising O’Connell.

Having served as President since the DFWC’s founding six years ago, O’Connell has facilitated the association’s interaction with relevant global organisations to protect and support the interests of DF&TR.

“I am very pleased to hand on the responsibility for the future development of the Council to Sarah, who I have worked closely with for many years,” added O’Connell.

The new DFWC Board is comprised of Sarah Branquinho, President; Grant Fleming, President, APTRA; Gustavo Fagundes, President, ASUTIL; Nigel Keal, President, ETRC; Abe Taqtaq, President, Frontier Duty Free Association (FDFA); René Riedi, Chairman, IAADFS; Haitham Al-Majali, President, MEADFA; and Alain Maingreaud, President, TFWA.


Global Travel Retail Awards 2024: Entries now open!

TRBusiness is delighted to announce that entries to the consumer-voted Global Travel Retail...


Harding+ announces departure of Chief Brand and Culture Officer Sue Gosling

Harding+ Chief Brand and Culture Officer Sue Gosling has stood down from her...


"Growing appetite for sustainable & local products"

With international passenger traffic rebounding, consumers are demonstrating a craving for...

image description

In the Magazine

TRBusiness Magazine is free to access. Read the latest issue now.

E-mail this link to a friend